Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Wentzville School District announces 2018 -2019 Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the year Kaci Lueking

Kaci Lueking, a first grade teacher at Wabash Elementary School, has been selected as the Wentzville School District Teacher of the Year for 2018-2019.

This year’s winner is presented by district marketing partner Central Methodist University. Candidates are judged on their ability to inspire and educate students of all backgrounds and abilities, as well as their ability to lead and inspire their colleagues.

“As I sat there listening to all the names (of the other WSD Teachers of the Year) being read, I felt so fortunate just to be sitting there with them,” Lueking shared following the announcement at the Board of Education meeting on December 20.

Dr. Cain and Kaci Lueking

Mrs. Lueking has worked for the Wentzville School District since 2015. “I enjoy every day I walk into Wabash because I don’t see this as a job, but as a passion, and I’m so lucky to work with people who feel the same way,” shared Lueking. “Wabash is an amazing elementary school with amazing leaders, and I would not be here today without the outstanding administrators, teachers, parents and students who make up the Wabash community.”

Mrs. Lueking’s principal at Wabash, Mr. Matt Schulte, shared that Kaci is a model educator who is dedicated, passionate, caring, and focused on student growth who is also a leader in professional learning. “The Wabash community is fortunate to have Kaci on our team and I can’t think of a better ambassador for the Wentzville School District,” said Schulte.

As the winner of the District Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Lueking is now eligible to compete at the regional and state level in the Missouri Teacher of the Year program, which is conducted annually by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education in conjunction with the National Teacher of the Year program.

During the District Teacher of the Year process, each school selected their Teacher of the Year, and those teachers then went through an application and interview process to be considered for District Teacher of the Year. WSD building Teachers of the Year (and District Finalists) for 2018-19 are:

Justin Young, Holt High School
Christopher Hysong, Liberty High School (District TOY Finalist)
Stacey Nielsen, Timberland High School (District TOY Finalist)
Douglas Leonard, Frontier Middle School
Yvette Wiemann, South Middle School
Christopher Kyle, Wentzville Middle School
Angela Garcia, Boone Trail Elementary (District TOY Finalist)
Heather Gardner, Crossroads Elementary
Becky Newsom, Discovery Ridge Elementary
Jacqueline Swanson, Duello Elementary
Charlene Wagemann, Green Tree Elementary
Sally Schulte, Heritage Primary (District TOY Finalist)
Barbara Stepp, Heritage Intermediate (District TOY Finalist)
Jennifer Cook, Lakeview Elementary
Lisa Ryan, Peine Ridge Elementary
Emily Dubois, Prairie View Elementary
Jennifer Thies, Stone Creek Elementary (District TOY Finalist)
Kaci Lueking, Wabash Elementary (District Teacher of the Year)
Elizabeth Sandorf, Barfield Early Childhood Special Education Center (District TOY Finalist)
Kathryn Smith, Pearce Hall
Ashley Capotosto, Mind Development Center (District TOY Finalist)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of