Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Local Theater Groups from Wentzville, O’Fallon Nominated for Awards

Beauty and the Beast Cast

Arts for Life, a local non-for-profit that supports community and youth theater in the St. Louis Metro area, has announced the nominations for its 2016 awards, the Best Performance Awards for musical theater, and the Theatre Mask Awards, for dramas and comedies. Two local theater groups from O’Fallon and Wentzville were well represented in the nominations.

In the Best Performance Awards, Wentzville Christian Church earned 18 nominations for its production of “Disney’s Beauty and the Beast.” The production earned nominations for:

  • Best Large Ensemble Production
  • Directions, Tammy Rodenbaugh
  • Music Direction, Cathy Whitworth
  • Choreography, Alison Dueker, Julie Garey, and Debbie Ladd
  • Set Design, John Stroot
  • Lighting Design, Mary Ellen Riley and Caleb Butler
  • Costume Design, Tammy Rodenbough
  • Lead Actress, Elizabeth Dunn
  • Lead Actor, Will Pendergast
  • Featured Actor, John Lemon
  • Featured Actor, Jeff Loeffler
  • Supporting Actress, Sara St. Clair
  • Supporting Actor, Chad Brenneman
  • Comedic Actor, Cameron Bopp
  • Cameo Actress, Mary Ellen Riley
  • Cameo Actor, D.J. Wojciehowski
  • Group Performance, Alison Dueker, Alex Dyer, Julie Garey
  • Juvenile Performance, Mia Politte

The Best Performance Award winners will be announced on Sunday, June 11 at the Skip Viragh Center for the Arts at Chaminade.

Cast of Anne Frank

O’Fallon TheatreWorks received nominations for two productions, “The Diary of Anne Frank” and “Noises Off.”

“The Diary of Anne Frank” was nominated for Outstanding Drama, and “Noises Off” was nominated for Outstanding Comedy. Both productions also received nominations for Large Ensemble of a Play.

Noises Off also received nominations for:

  • Direction of a Comedy, Melissa Boyer
  • Leading Actress in a Comedy, Jadienne Nolan
  • Leading Actor in a Comedy, Jeff Lloyd
  • Leading Actor in a Comedy, Anthony Wininger
  • Set Design of a Play, Robert Hanson
  • Supporting Actress in a Comedy, Amanda McMichael
  • Supporting Actor in a Comedy, Mike McPartland

The Diary of Anne Frank also received nominations for:

  • Direction of a Drama, Chris and Carole Lanham
  • Set Design of a Play, Chris, Carole, and Ellie Lanham
  • Costume Design of a Play, Chris, Carole, and Ellie Lanham
  • Lighting Design of a Play, Katie Adams
  • Supporting Actress in a Drama, Kathy Fugate

The Theater Mask Award winners will be announced at a ceremony on Saturday, April 1 at the Paul F. Detrick Building at Christian Hospital, 11133 Dunn Road, St. Louis. More information is available on the Arts for Life website.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of